beginning2end365

cooking through a cookbook front to back in a year

Growing Basil

Leave a comment

I’m rather sad that I somehow forgot to move my basil inside when the first frost hit. Within days it had completely shriveled up and turned a ghastly brown and just ruining my great green thumb streak. I went hunting through several different store’s garden section for fresh basil, but the beginning of January “is not herb season, mah deah!” proclaimed more than one salesperson.

So I broke down and was about to buy a small box of basil seeds and a planter… but when it rang up for $6, I decided I could do better than that! I collected a few twenty-five cent ceramic planters for my favorite thrift store, a bag of potting soil for $1.60 and a packet of basil seeds for seventy nine cents. 😀 I’m hoping to follow some of the tips found here.

I’m been thoroughly enjoying watching them grow… can’t wait until it is large enough to start picking!


100_2458 100_2463 100_2495

Author: cookbookbeginning2end365

Beginning2end365 is a blog about my journey of cooking through a cookbook, beginning to end in a year and all the mishaps, jumbles, fun and memories along the way.

Leave a Reply

